Carlton & United Breweries



McCracken City Brewers tug of war team

1851 – The McCracken Brewery is established by Robert and Peter McCracken and James Robertson on Collins St across from the Rialto buildings. Pictured above is the McCracken City Brewery tug of war team.

1853 – Scot Thomas McLaren starts The Royal Standard Brewery in Ballarat.

1854 – The Castlemaine Brewery is established by Walter Smith.

1854 – Victoria Parade Brewery (later the Victoria Brewery) is established in Melbourne.

Princes Bridge Hotel (Now known as Young & Jacksons Hotel)

1855 – Pictured above is the Princes Bridge Hotel (Now known as Young & Jacksons Hotel)

1857 – Phoenix Brewery in Ballarat, Victoria started by Irishman Alex Magill.

1858 – Theodore Rosenberg purchases a site in Bouverie St, North Melbourne (what is now Carlton) and under the name of the Union brewery brews a German ‘Lagerbeer’. This location would go on to be the site of the Carlton Brewery.